Duck Psychosis

I’m not crazy about summer because I’m kind of chubby and I don’t like having boob sweat.  It makes me cranky.  There shouldn’t be sweat near or on my boobage.  But I do like the fact that kids are outside playing and being kids- even that three year old boy who planted his hands on his knees and yelled into the sky “Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck.”  I think he just needed to relieve some stress.  It’s hard being 3.

I live near a protected wetland (It’s not beautiful or pristine or makes me gasp at the wonder of nature…it looks like a place both humans and animals go to die) and a lot of ducks have moved in.  They’re loud bastards but I like them.  I was looking out the window the other day at an apartment complex across the street.  A duck had landed on the other side of the chain link fence.  Two little girls of about four laced their fingers into the mesh fence and gave it a gentlecry shake and began babbling at the duck.  He didn’t seem too alarmed because he was on the other side of the fence or maybe he was just an asshole and refused to acknowledge the little girls.  I was thinking, “That is so damn cute!  They’re talking to the duck and now he’s starting to make noises back at them.”  And then I realize the duck’s starting to get alarmed because the girls are shaking the fence so hard.  They’re almost in tears like this is 1964 and the Beatles have landed.

The duck flew off, the little girls got distracted by something shiny and the little boy raised his face to the evening sun and screamed “Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit.”

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

