The Trail

The Trail

There’s an urban trail that runs along the front of my house. You go one way and it’ll lead you to shops. You go the other way and the world disappears for a distance. I don’t use that trail when I’m alone. There are so many places someone or something could hide and wait. I’m not one of those women who thinks there’s a rapist around every dark corner. But the reality is, that part of the trail is so isolated that something very bad could happen very quickly. Mom and I were walking Maxhole the dog down this part of the trail. It was completely empty and we were going to walk the whole thing. We had the path to ourselves until I saw a dark shape further down. It was so far away that all I could see what that it shifted its weight slightly. That lizard part of my brain woke up and told me to turn around. So we did. It was probably one of the old Russian guys who live in the apartment complex across the road. But the way it barely moved…it was like a zombie movie: you know you’re looking at something that might be human but it moves so…wrong that you know it’s something scary. I wasn’t about to go further down the path to see what it was.

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Trail

  1. Sunflower says:

    I’m a trail runner and prefer solitude while doing it. I know this feeling/sense you’re describing. It sucks!

  2. completelyephemeral says:

    Before I moved to this state there were some incidents along that trail. It didn’t stop me from biking it a couple of times, but I did have my burly husband literally along for the ride. Always pay attention to the lizard. Instincts save lives!

  3. Morguie says:

    The ghost of….Ted Bundy…really.

Leave a Reply

