Tequila and Heartache Do Not Go Hand in Hand

Tequila and Heartache Do Not Go Hand in Hand

I came late to the drinking party and by drinking party I mean I didn’t really drink until after I was 30. A douchebag broke my heart (and I was stupid and let him break my heart) and the only thing that seemed to help was shot after shot of tequila and by help I mean drinking until everything was obliterated. My friend’s husband had to take away the tequila bottle and I think I was still a little drunk 12 hours later when I went grocery shopping and thought I was going to toss my cookies in the soup aisle. Short story long, I still have to work with the douchebag but he has a hump, is missing part of a finger and a pectoral muscle and likes to call himself a doctor because he has a Ph.D. in music which I’m sure has come in very handy in his life.
But to this day the thought of tequila and the douchebag’s face causes me to throw up a little in my mouth.

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tequila and Heartache Do Not Go Hand in Hand

  1. completelyephemeral says:

    The part of the story you forgot is a part I’m sure you don’t remember: a certain gay bff and I tried to keep you conscious on the car ride home by singing you NKOTB. I think you stayed awake just to be sure we stopped singing.
    Douchebag!

    • jkhughes2 says:

      As soon as I read this I remembered being in the back seat of Chris’s car, propped up against the door and sliding down in my seat. You kept looking back at me to make sure I was okay and I think our other friend laughed at me the whole time. I think that’s really why I hate New Kids on the Block. Them and tequila.

  2. Ugh – tequila brings back too many bad memories for me – it’s been years since I’ve touched it – and last time I did it was my go to drink during a breakup too – perhaps part of the negative association! Sorry you have to work with DB still! I don’t know him but the fact that he refers to him as doctor with a PhD in music is enough! *gag*

    • jkhughes2 says:

      Thanks, Running Betty. My friend had the almost empty tequila bottle on top of her fridge for a couple years and every time I saw it I’d get this ball of sick in my stomach. The douchebag is still a douchebag.

  3. Morguie says:

    DB’s never morph into anything else except for larger DBs! Big surprise? Yeah, not hardly. Rinse your mouth and be glad you saw a DB for what he was. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

