Take This Job and Suck It

Dear Work-

Get fucked.  I quit.  I’ve given you my loyalty for the last 16 years.  I’ve worked hard for you.  I’ve taken the crappy projects no one else wants to do or think they’re too good to do.  You keep calling me hostile when I try to stand up for myself.  You like to remind me I work at a job most high school kids do for two years before leaving to do something better.  Thanks for cutting my hours and filling my days with panic attacks and the idea that it would be best for me to jump off the roof of the library.  Except I don’t really know where the door to the roof is.  But I’m stubborn.  I’ll find it.

I quit.

Nah.  Just kidding. I’ll be in tomorrow and work an extra hour without pay.

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Take This Job and Suck It

  1. Mamasan says:

    Helps to get it off your chest though, doesn’t it?!!!

  2. I want to “like” this post to show I agree with it and know the feeling, but it doesn’t mean I actually ‘like’ it.

  3. I feel the lack of appreciation as well. I told myself I have options: 1. Stop Complaining & Make the Best of It 2. Leave & Start Anew 3. (So I know there has to be more options; therefore, I’m still figuring the third one out… lol). Hang in there!!

    ❤ Carsla
    Founder & CEO of Connect-the-Cloths
    http://www.connect-the-cloths.com
    A stylist, foodie, & writer's blog in development.

    • jkhughes2 says:

      Thanks for reading and thanks for writing. I feel the same way. Complaining is easier. It’s too scary to go out and get another job, especially since I’ve been in the same place for almost 17 years. I try to be positive about my job but some days I want to run away screaming.

  4. Morguie says:

    Sounds like a great time for someone like myself to chime in with a snarky “At least you have jobs” remark. I wish I had a job to bitch about. But I am one of the millions of picked over, tossed out, worthless rejects they call “long-term unemployed”… instead, I’ll settle for living vicariously through you, for a minute. Yeah. All better now. On second thought, I don’t miss having a job that much. Certainly not the drama and the abuse. Yep. I’ll just come in here and live vicariously…especially when I need a reminder; it will encourage me not to give up on current and 10th self-reinvention project I have immersed self in. I will be my own boss, in this effort. Anyway I’m the only one who’ll hire me!
    All silliness aside: your blog entries are quite entertaining thus far. I plan to come back and get caught up. Don’t knock yourself. You are quite talented. Not everybody can put pen to paper and express themselves so brilliantly.

    • jkhughes2 says:

      Yeah, I’m grateful to have a job. You can be as snarky as you want because you’re human! It took me almost 17 years with the city and I finally got full-time a year ago. A few months ago I was told by the library director that my position would be cut, that I would go from 40 hours a week to 29 because of Obamacare, that the city didn’t have enough money in the budget to keep me on at 40 hours AND pay me health benefits. So I’m pretty angry and snarky too. Thanks for reading my stuff.

  5. idleteach says:

    Please find and read a book by Tom Hodgkinson, called “How to be idle”… even if it doesn’t inspire you it should at the very least be good entertainment during the next on-hold session!

Leave a Reply

