Yes, I Shoved the Whole Thing Into My Mouth

I work at a place where more often than not you’ll find food almost daily.  I’m talking donuts, chips and dip, and candy.  You should see this place the day after Halloween.  One of my best ever working days I got all jacked up on mini Snickers and Milky Ways and spun in my chair while my co-worker 3 feet away did the same.

Our Work Mom’s name is Junie.  I say Work Mom because she’s always looking after us, feeding us snacks, asking about our lives.  I’ve only known 4 people in my life who are truly evil-free and cynicism and negativity have no part in their lives.  One of them is my mom.  The other two are Gloria and Kathy (who also make sure I’ve had a snack and listen to me when I worry that my dog, The Maxhole, hates my guts and is planning my death so he can have my mom all to himself).

Junie had surgery a couple weeks ago.  All of us were worried because she had kept her illness to herself for three years and then boom!  She tells us she has to have some of her kidney removed because some of it might be cancerous.  Short story long, Junie is A-OK and already back to work.  No cancer.  I think she was supposed to be gone longer but she wanted to get back to work.  Maybe because her family are idiots and she spends all of her time looking after them even though her two sons are grown and gone they constantly call her, needing something.

The library pitched in and put together a basket for her.  I added a bag of mini candy bars because I figure chocolate is a universal “Get better fast” and “Please do something good for yourself even if it’s just eating a bag of candy bars” kind of gift.

Junie came back to work on Monday and brought a box of donuts to thank us.

TO THANK US FOR WORRYING ABOUT HER.  She’s so selfless, bringing food for us.  Yes, there are entire weeks that go by where I’m constantly confused that good people exist.

So I was working on my second donut and eyeballing a third that Kathy and I were going to split (okay, I’ll admit it, I was going to eat that third donut by myself because 1) I have no will power and 2) I have issues about sharing) when my boss shuffled by my desk, raised an eyebrow at me, looked at part of the donut hanging out of my mouth and said nothing as I shoved the other half of the donut into my mouth.

We didn’t break eye contact.

It felt too intimate.

And I wanted to shout at her “Don’t judge me!  You don’t know me!”

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, I Shoved the Whole Thing Into My Mouth

  1. Gloria says:

    Ha,…you think I’m evil free?!! My plan is working then….and those G D donuts….they were even there today…mocking in their halfed,, rock hard, sat overnight state…some angel threw them away…damn donuts…sweet Junie, damn donuts !!

    • jkhughes2 says:

      You have so much goodness in you that it’s disturbing. You get along with everybody because you’re awesome and have nothing bad to say about anything.
      Why are we friends?
      Ha! Because you’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

