I Have No Idea What I’m Doing

I took a peek at the blogs on WordPress and figured something out:  I have no idea what I’m doing.  Other bloggers have tricked out pages, screens of pimped up blogs full of fascinating junk.  Lots of bright colors and things moving around on the screen.  I can’t help but think these are real writers.  Or at least they’re people who paid the $18 for a wonderfully whored out theme.  I mean that in the best way possible.  My blog page shrieks “Something is happening on this page!  There’s some swirly reds and weird titles.  There are a lot of fart references.”

I never really sat down and planned on doing a blog.  I’d been following Jenny Lawson’s blog but it didn’t occur to me until a couple weeks ago that I wanted to try it out.  I put it off, scared that it’d be something I’d be kinda interested in and then let it fall by the wayside.  It took me a week to put a spiral bound notebook in my backpack to take notes.  I doubt anyone will read my posts besides the best co-workers a girl could dream of and a supportive family.  In the next few months I might sorta understand how blogging works.  I might even shell out $18 to make it look like I kind of know what’s going on (but of course I have no idea what’s going on).  Except I really want to buy a couple of my peeps something for Christmas and if I spent money on myself I’d spend half an hour feeling guilty and then get distracted by something shiny.  Or there are cookies nearby.  Nobody’s safe around me when there are cookies present.

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have No Idea What I’m Doing

  1. Kathy says:

    I read your whole post but I forgot everything you said when you mentioned cookies.

  2. jkhughes2 says:

    God. I want cookies right now, the ones the size of my head. Thanks for not judging me when I ate the 9 pounds of M&Ms at your desk.

Leave a Reply

