Hiding From the Staff Holiday Party

For the last 100 years I’ve avoided the staff holiday party at the library.  I usually take the day off but I ran out of vacation time taking the week of Thanksgiving off.  Damn it.  There’s no booze at the holiday party and many of us would need tequila shots just to get through the very confusing game of BINGO and the bizarre gift exchange where if you really like what someone else opened you can trade the piece of shit you won for the piece of shit you want.

I stayed at my desk and ate 20 chocolate chip cookies.  Sadly, this is not an exaggeration.  I lost count when the cookies reached the double digits.  I may have even gone into a cookie binge blackout.  There was going to be a group photo taken for a co-worker who was out having surgery.  I thought it would just be my department doing the photo.  I forgot (or repressed) about the entire staff of the library gathering together for a photo.  The co-worker who takes the photo each year draws it out in a tortuous event, waving her hands at us to stand closer, step to the left, no, your left.  Take the fucking picture, Anne Leibovitz.  I didn’t say this out loud because the library’s big boss, the director, was standing five feet away from me.  Or maybe she heard me mutter “Jesus fucking Christ.”  If she did hear me she didn’t call me on it.  Maybe she was thinking the same thing.

Bethany, my-life-is-so-much-more-important-and-complicated-than-yours, turned to me and snapped “Just smile for the camera.”

You know what Bethany?  Go drink everything under the kitchen sink.

Gathered on the stage steps of the library’s auditorium, ugly Christmas sweaters, reindeer antler headbands, five pounds of holiday cookies in my belly, I’m reminded of the holiday season, the wonder in a child’s face, the sense of togetherness and unity.  And then I think

“Fuck this shit” and head back to my desk to eat another dozen cookies.

About jkhughes2

I'm fat and I hate my job. Well kinda. Kinda on both of those. I love to read and work in a library where they don't let me read. But as long as I get to be around books I'm happy. I once wanted to be a writer and then realized that I'm too lazy to write a book but not too lazy to write a blog. And blogging is like keeping a journal except my posts are the equivalent of verbal diarrhea. And oh yeah. I have really low self-esteem. I have a dog named Max but I call him Maxhole. He's the first dog I've ever had. I find his daily life way more interesting than mine or most people I know. That's about it. I hate politics and computer books. I secretly wish I was Doctor Who but can't remember if that's "was" or "were." Now that's it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

